When it comes to how bail bonds work in Arkansas, residents and visitors to the state should know that all companies must follow the laws, rules and regulations as set by the state. This means that all bail bonds Arkansas companies have the same guidelines on what they can charge and how their bail bond policies operate. However, there may be some wiggle room depending on the payment system of the person in need of bail in terms of bail collateral.
The Bail Bonds System in Arkansas
As with most other states, the booking process must be completed before the bond is set. However, for many common charges there are generally bond amounts that are almost pre-set so the bail bond agent can be contacted.
Typically, the bail bond agent will be contacted by the person in jail or their family member or friend. The agent will generally ask three questions starting with the name and date of birth of the person in jail, the list of charges against them and the amount the bond has been set. This will provide the agent with the information necessary to get started on creating the bond itself.
Arkansas Bail Bond Charges & Fees
The charges and fees associated with bail bonds issued in Arkansas are the same for every company. The state mandates that bail bond companies can charge and collect a 10% premium for all types of bonds that are issued. The only exception is bonds that are valued at $500 or less which will require a $50 minimum.
How Much Is Bail Bonds in Arkansas?
Arkansas Law requires bail bond companies to charge and collect a ten percent premium on all bonds. It also provides there will be a $50.00 minimum on premium for any bond of $500.00 or less. The law also requires certain fees to be collected with every bond posted. Any and all premiums and fees are due and payable at the time the bond is written.
Financing may be an option depending on the bond amount. This can be determined with the bail agent posting the bond. Your bond amount will determine if collateral is needed. Often times the bail company will only require a co-signer (indemnitor).
After the final court appearances have been made and all premium monies have been paid, any lien will be released and any collateral returned to the defendant, the defendants family (if the defendant is incarcerated), or the cosignor.
As mentioned above, in addition to the bond itself, there are certain fees that must be collected with all bonds that are posted which include the following;
- Admin Fee $20.00
- Public Defender Fee $20.00
- State Fee $20.00
- County or City Bond Fee $20.00
The fees are $20 each which means that a minimum of $80 will be a part of all bonds that are issued. The fees and payment are due at the time the bond has been written and there may be financing available as well. Financing is an area of flexibility for the bail bond agents as they can use all appropriate means at their disposal.
For example, many bail bond agents will take credit cards or create payment arrangements that are suitable for the person in question. Quite often, there are people who cannot pay the 10% all at once and will need to spread that out over two, three or more payments. In these cases, the bail bond agent does have some leeway in terms of collecting their fee.
There is also security of collateral that may be used in terms of securing a bond. Collateral is used to ensure that payment will be made must meet or exceed the value of the bond as determined by the bail bond agency. The types of collateral that are often used include, but are not limited to the following:
Types of Collateral Accepted for Bail:
- Collateral could be real estate whereupon a lien is then be filed on behalf of the bail company; it will be the amount of the bond.
- Vehicles of any kind, must be worth the value of the bond and must have a clear title in the name of the cosignor or defendant.
- Certain other property can be used as collateral which may include jewelry, artwork or any other item depending on the value and the amount of the bond.
Discovering How Bail Bonds Work in Arkansas
When it comes to how bail works in Arkansas residents should start by reviewing the local companies in case they are in need of their services. It must be noted that all bail bonds Arkansas companies are now regulated by the Professional Bail Bond Licensing Board whose website contains information about bail bonds in their state. The board has an extensive list of Arkansas bail bonds by county which is maintained by their department of all registered bail bond agents and companies throughout Arkansas.
Video: How Bail Bonds Work in Arkansas
Arkansas Bail Bonds Information
How does bail bonds work in Arkansas? A judge will set the defendant’s bail. An Arkansas bailbond agent will post the bond once the 10 percent premium is paid. State charges are also collected at this time. The defendant must appear in court at all hearings or forfeit the bond. All bail bonds companies in Arkansas must also abide the rules set forth by the state pursuant to Act 417 of 1989, codified as Ark. Code Ann. Section 17-19-101 et seq.
Further Arkansas bail bond regulations can be found in this downloadable PDF:
[dt_default_button link=”https://howbailbondswork.com/arkansas/Arkansas_Bail_Bonds_Regulations.pdf” button_alignment=”default” animation=”fadeIn” size=”big” default_btn_bg_color=”” bg_hover_color=”” text_color=”” text_hover_color=”” icon=”fa fa-chevron-circle-right” icon_align=”left”]AR Bail Regulations[/dt_default_button]
More information about Arkansas bail bond laws and what responsibilities are of a defendant and bondsman listed here:
[dt_default_button link=”https://howbailbondswork.com/how-bail-bonds-work-in-arkansas/arkansas-bail-laws” button_alignment=”default” animation=”fadeIn” size=”big” default_btn_bg_color=”” bg_hover_color=”” text_color=”” text_hover_color=”” icon=”fa fa-chevron-circle-right” icon_align=”left”]ARKANSAS BAIL LAWS[/dt_default_button]