How Much Are Bail Bond Costs in Your State?
Every state in the U.S. has different rates of bail bond costs. Most are a fixed rate of 10% of the bond, while others are tiered according to the amount. For instance, Montana bail is a straight 10% of the bond with no variance while California can be as low as 5%. Meanwhile, in Connecticut, they have a staggered (or tiered) bail cost where the larger the cost the lower the percentage.
One thing most people do though, is to call around asking bail companies to get the lowest rate possible. If your state does not offer reductions in bail bond costs, you can always ask the bondsman to waive the paperwork fee. This “paperwork fee” is often used by the bondsman to cover travel and expenses to write the bond.
Other bail bond costs may be victim compensation funds or sheriff fees. A victims compensation fund is typically $25 to $50. For example, Arkansas Victim Compensation fee is $50. In Idaho, there is a sheriff fee of $10 – $25 depending on county.
How Much is Your Bail?
Depend on one of the best online bail bond companies with flexible payment plans and terms available. Enter your total bail amount needed to determine an approximate bail cost and approximate monthly payments for a bail loan:
NOTE: There are bail amounts that bondsmen must charge according to state regulations
Bail Bond Costs Per State
|STATE||BAIL PREMIUM %||SOURCE|LAW|
|Alabama||10% mandated||Alabama Department of Insurance|
|Alaska||No maximum set but company rates must be filed with the state’s Division of Insurance||Alaska Division of Insurance|
|Arizona||10% mandated with special exception at 8%||Arizona Department of Insurance|
|Arkansas||10% Maximum with $50 Minimum Bond Payment||Arkansas Bail Bonds Code|
|California||10% Maximum||California Department of Insurance|
|Colorado||15% Maximum||Colorado Division of Insurance|
|Connecticut||TIERED: $50.00 of bonds up to $500; 10% of the bond face value for bond amounts from $500 to $5,000; 7% of the bail bond costs in amounts in excess of $5,000||Connecticut Bail Bonds Statutes|
|Delaware||No Maximum||Delaware Department of Insurance|
|Florida||6.5% Minimum||Florida Bail Statute 624.4094|
|Georgia||12% of bail $10k or less | 15% on bail more than $10k||Georgia Bail Title 17|
|Hawaii||No Maximum||Hawaii Bail DCCA|
|Idaho||No Maximum set||Idaho Statute § 41-1042|
|Indiana||10% Maximum||Indiana Department of Insurance|
|Iowa||No Maximum||Iowa Insurance Department|
|Kansas||No Maximum||Kansas Insurance Department|
|Louisiana||Cannot exceed 12% or $120, whichever is greater.||Louisiana Premium RS 22.1443|
|Maryland||10%||Maryland Insurance Administration|
|Michigan||10% Maximum||Mich. Stat. § 750.167b|
|Minnesota||No Maximum||Minnesota Department of Commerce|
|Mississippi||Cannot exceed $50 or 10%, whichever is greater; for defendants charged with a capital offense or residing out-of-state, greater of $50 or 15%||Miss. Code § 83-39-25|
|Missouri||No Maximum Rate has to be on file with DOI.||Missouri Department of Insurance|
|Montana||10% Maximum with Office Fees||Montana Bail Laws|
|Nevada||Cannot exceed $50 or 15%, whichever is greater.||NRS § 697.300|
|New Hampshire||10% Maximum||New Hampshire Insurance Department|
|New Mexico||10% Maximum||New Mexico Public Regulation Commission|
|New York||10% up to $3000, 8% for $3000-$10000, 6% for the amount over $10000.||New York Insurance Department|
|North Carolina||15% Maximum||NC Stat. § 58-71-95(5)|
|North Dakota||Cannot exceed 10% or $75, whichever is greater.||North Dakota Department of Insurance|
|Ohio||10% Maximum||ORC Chapter 3905|
|Oklahoma||No Maximum||Oklahoma Insurance Department|
|Pennsylvania||Up to 10% for the first $100 and up to 5% for each additional $100||42 Pa. Stat. § 5748|
|Rhode Island||Bail bonds regulated by the courts pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 12-13-21||R.I. Gen. Laws § 12-13-21|
|South Carolina||15% Maximum, not less than $25||South Carolina Department of Insurance|
|South Dakota||No Maximum||South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation|
|Tennessee||10%||Tenn. Code § 40-11-316|
|Texas||Each County Bail Bond Board regulates fees||Texas Insurance Department|
|Utah||20% Maximum with 10% Minimum||UT Administrative Rule R590-196-4|
|Vermont||10%||Vermont Department of Financial Regulation|
|Virginia||15%||Code of Virginia § 9.1-185.8|
|Washington||No Maximum with $50 Minimum||Washington Department of Licensing|
|West Virginia||10%||West Virginia Office of Insurance|
|Wyoming||No Maximum||Wyoming Insurance Department|
Saving Money on Bail
Saving money on bail costs can be difficult if you don’t know the laws in your state or have a bondsman you know and trust. Look, an arrest can happen to anyone. Having a bondsman on speed dial like you do a lawyer or plumber makes getting out of jail quick.
Bail bond costs vary per state so it’s simply a good idea to get to know the people in the bail industry near you. Some bondsmen offer financing, but you won’t know unless you ask. Saving money on bail is simple as asking a question to the bondsman, knowing your bail bond costs is even simpler using this handy guide.
|3 Months||6 Months|
|9 Months||12 Months|